2016 Competition Winners

View YouTube videos of the winners here!

The audience enjoyed some wonderful playing by all of the Finalists in the Winners Recital on Sunday, March 6 at Sundin Music Hall at Hamline University. Alison Young of  Classical MPR was the emcee. At the Awards ceremony, she announced the winners:


First Place and $1,000 - VESPER STRING QUARTET, coached by Tom Rosenberg
Vivian Murphy, violin; Kajsa Johansson, cello; Addison Nichols, violin; and John Paul Shoemaker, viola

Tie for Second Place:
$600 each group:

ANDRES STRING QUARTET, coached by Laura Sewell
Angel Lyn Andres, violin; Patrick Allen Hyatte, violin; Edwin P.T. Donovan, viola and Chris Jubok Kwon, cello

VENTO SILVA WIND QUINTET, coached by Norbert Nielubowski
Sarrah Bushara, oboe; Andrea Kloehn, flute; Susan Stewart, clarinet; Rachel Lauson, horn; Beck Rusley, bassoon

Outstanding Wind Ensemble: $150:  

LEVEL B:First Place and $100 - TRIO GIOVANE, coached by Tom Rosenberg
Emily Kleiber, violin; Hannah Greenstein, cello; and Joseph Caswell, piano