• 2018 Competition Winners

    The top winners in the seventh annual SPCO Youth Chamber Music Competition were announced on Sunday, March 18 at the Finalists Recital held in Sundin Music Hall at Hamline University.Winning First Prize and the Grand Prize, which includes a performance at the Ordway Concert Hall on Saturday, May 19, was the Fourzando String Quartet: Joelle Chen, (violin) from Edina High School; Makaela Foerderer (violin) from Southwest High school; Elizabeth Bergmann (viola) from Saint Paul Central Hig...  Read More...

  • Two Winners and Six Semifinalists Named

    Creative Category winner: The Tamberwood Jazz Quintet

    Level B winner:  Trio Luminoso - piano trio

    Semifinalists: Fourzando Quartet, Pontem Firmissimum String Trio,  Lumos Quartet, Shattuck-St. Mary's Piano Trio,  Michaelangelo Quartet,  Cl 3 - wind trio


  • Announcing Judges for the 2018 Competition

    Video round: Daria Adams, violin, Mina Fisher, cello; Alicia McQuerrey, fluteSemifinal round: Maureen Nelson, violin; Sarah Lewis, cello; Ronald Beitel, hornFinal round: Michele Frisch, flute; Laura Sewell, cello; John Miller, bassoonCreative category: John Bergquist, trumpet, bass, blugrass; Russell Peterson, professor: saxophone, bassoon, jazz ensemble    Read More...

RSS Feed